## 1928-29 A. O. C. S. Committees Announced

R. A. W. Putland, president of the American Oil Chemists' Society, has selected the personnel of all Society committees for the coming year except one. There are twelve committees, as compared to thirteen last year, and the range of subjects covered is slightly different than under the regime of Mr. H. P. Trevithick, the preceding president.

New committees this year are the one to further study method of determining oil in cotton seed, and the one to investigate the value of the Kreis test as an index to the degree of rancidity. Past committees that have been abolished because of the prize completed work are awards committee for OIL AND FAT INDUSTRIES articles, the ammonia committee, the committee to investigate the Dubosq calorimeter, the analysis of commercial oils and fats committee, and the basic research committee.

## New Committees

The 1928-29 committees are as follows: Governing Committee: A. W. Putland, chairman, H. P. Trevithick, W. R. Stryker, J. J. Vollertson, R. H. Fash, H. J. Morrison, W. H. Irwin, G. K. Witmer.

Referee Board: W. H. Irwin, chairman, A. W. Putland, Felix Paquin, L. C. Haskell, H. Aspegren.

Smalley Foundation: H. C. Moore, chairman, H. B. Battle, C. A. Butt, L. B. Forbes, M. G. Boulware, E. H. Tenent.

Uniform Method and Planning Committee: J. J. Vollertson, chairman, H. J. Morrison, C. B. Cluff, N. C. Hamner, B. H. Thurman.

Detergent Committee: This committee is not complete at present. However, L. T. Howells, who served as vice-chairman of the committee last year has consented to act as chairman this year. The balance of the committee will be complete in a short time.

Membership Committee: W. R. Stryker, chairman, H. P. Trevithick, P. McG. Shuey; J. P. Harris, P. W. Tompkins.

## Refining Committee Members

Refining Committee: C. B. Cluff, chairman, W. R. Stryker, R. H. Fash, R. C. Hatter, E. R. Barrow.

Committee To Further Study Method of Determining Oil in Cotton Seed: C. H. Cox, chairman, E. C. Ainslie, W. D. Hutchins, R. H. Fash, D. C. Picard.

Committee on Crude Mill Operations: A. K. Schwartz, chairman, J. J. Ganucheau, Lehman Johnson.

Committee to Investigate the Value of the Kreis Test as an Index to the Degree of Rancidity: A. S. Richardson, chairman, Dan Gray, A. K. Epstein, C. H. Bailey, Rosalind Norris, L. M. Tolman, W. D. Hutchins, G. S. Jamieson.

Color Committee: W. D. Hutchins, chairman, A. K. Schwartz, G. L. Grant, G. W. Agee, L. G. Copes.

Moisture Committee: W. H. Irwin, Chairman, E. H. Tenent, E. W. Magruder, N. C. Hamner, W. D. Evans.